Apple’s Empire

Everyone’s talking about the iPad 2.

The ultimate, ground-breaking, updated version of Apple’s tablet.

Last week, Steve Jobs revealed the iPad 2, setting all media platforms into a frenzy.

I could describe the specialties of the new iPad– how it’s better, what’s new and so forth, but I won’t. Not only would I not know what I’m talking about (I don’t own one), but also I think the overall reaction to new Apple products is more fascinating. 

Every time Jobs does a demonstration, the rest of the world literally drools.

I’m not here to criticize this. I was first guilty when he revealed the original iPhone in 2007. It was a huge deal even though I knew I wasn’t going to get one (And I still haven’t. I jumped on the Android bandwagon last year). Regardless, however, I remember talking about how amazing it was– the ability to use a phone, browse the web, and listen to music on the same device. That seems forever ago.

Then there was the iTouch, the new iPhone, the newer iPhone, a couple updated versions of iPods, iTouches and Macs, the AppleTV, the first iPad, the latest version of the iPhone, the merging of the iPhone with Verizon Wireless and finally the iPad 2 (I probably forgot a few things but hopefully you caught the gist).

If you use any social media, chances are you saw at least one person make a comment about the new iPad this week, if not multiple. When thinking of this, I always find it interesting how the world gets so excited over Apple products. It’s gotten to the point where it’s a huge deal to be one of the media represenatives present when Jobs gives a demonstration or to attend Apple’s annual MacWorld Convention. That’s not to mention the “paparazzi,” i.e., the abundance of additional media outlets and Apple fanatics who will party outside of Apple’s headquarters during one of Jobs’ presentations.

Last year, when the original iPad was revealed, like the total nerd that I am, I followed Twitter updates from a tech site’s reporter who was there. This reporter commented on the atmosphere of the room prior to Jobs’ entrance, the roaring applause he received, and gave the nitty gritty details of everything he said. In hindsight, it was probably a waste of time, but I was completely fascinated.

This type of response, which Apple always receives gives it that much more power.  It appears that everytime something new is released, the response is bigger than the last one. 

Apple thrives on  its undeniable “cool” factor– its ability to make Macs look so much more fun and better because Justin Long is its mascot and that Windows guy just doesn’t come close in attractive qualities.

I really thought I understood that everyone loves digital media and that everyone loves Apple.

But it wasn’t until I saw these tweets from Harry Potter actor Tom Felton that I knew our culture had gone above and beyond a simple obsession– it’s much, much more than that.

1 Comment

Filed under Apple, Culture, Technology

One response to “Apple’s Empire

  1. Pingback: A Late Follow Up on WWDC. | techculturenow

Leave a Reply

