A Late Follow Up on Apple’s WWDC.

Since my hiatus, there’s been a lot happening in the tech world, meaning, Apple did something noteworthy. This something was the World Wide Developer’s Conference (WWDC) a few weeks ago where the world was introduced to the iCloud, iOS 5, Lion and so forth.

I’m obviously late on this one, but it’s a topic I love too much not to cover.

For me, it’s amusing that the revelation of these new services and software can, literally, cause shifts on the interwebs. The blogosphere explodes and everyone’s expressions while catching up on the news typically consists of dropped jaws and eyes on fire with excitement.

Steve Jobs at Apple's World Wide Developer's Conference

Or maybe that’s just me. I dunno. I don’t even own a Macbook, iPhone or iPad.

The point is, well, Apple always receives this kind of reaction from consumers, bloggers and critics.  Its up and coming products cause pandemonium in ways that no other services or providers do, which I’ve discussed before.

The difference this time, which has inspired me to write this is that the services revealed at WWDC aren’t new, handheld toys for Apple fanboys/girls. They’re software, which will make Apple’s toys better, but like I said, they’re software. 15 years ago, the only people who would rejoice over new software would have been a handful of employees working for Linux.

In short, we have come a long, long way.

At the same time though, I’m convinced from these revelations that 21st century media consumers are more excited about the anticipation of things to come rather than the things themselves. Are Apple consumers really going to rave about the iOS 5 software 2, 3 or 6 months from now? I doubt it. Also, we didn’t have midnight releases for summer blockbusters in the 90’s.

In essence, there will always be something else to blow up Twitter about.

Maybe I’m wrong, but sometimes this is undoubtedly true– the part about our tendency to overhype new things. Just recall the time when everyone thought that Windows Vista was going to be awesome. Or when everyone thought Stephenie Meyer was a great writer.

Yeah, I try not to either.

Leave a comment

Filed under Apple, Culture, iCloud, iOS 5, Lion, Technology

Leave a Reply

