Digital Eyestrain.

So much happened this past week in the tech world. Most of it revolves around Google+, but I’m obviously not breaking news on that one. That is perfectly fine by me too. This project is exciting and I cannot wait to see where it goes. I truly belive Google got it right this time.

As exciting as it already is, I’m going to restrain myself a bit here and save a post on Google+ for another time. Simply because it’s still to early to really evaluate it– not to mention I don’t have an account either. Unlike Mark Zuckerberg.

For now, though, I came across this article on Lifehacker, which got me thinking.

Too often, we forget that we spend the majority of our days looking at screens. Especially if we’re technology fanatics. Computer screens, cell phone screens, television screens, and so forth. For the extreme, just add iPad/iPod screens, as well as GPS screens. Forgive me if I forgot anything. My excuse is that it’s nearly midnight as I’m typing now.

As much as we may want to, we don’t always have the option of receiving information or doing various activities these days without staring at a screen of some sort. It’s one of the biggest Catch-22s of the 21st Century. Progress for progress’ sake, it seems, comes at a heavy cost. In this case, it’s our eyesight at stake– one of our most valuable, natural senses we are born with.

I’m curious about this now simply because I wonder if in future generations, will makind evolve as it has done in the past? Will newborns in future centuries be born with better capabilities of dealing with digital screens? Will they need to?

Maybe. You never know. If so, it’d be another implication that technology is winning over our selves, our cultures and our world.

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

